Cosmopolitan's 2017 Women Of The Year Award Winners

Posted 31 October 2017 in Announcement, Press Release


The Cosmopolitan Women of the Year Awards with Avon today celebrated nine incredible Australian women who have inspired the nation with their talent, determination and leadership. Hosted by Sylvia Jeffreys, the event honoured trailblazers including Paralympian Jessica Smith, who received the prestigious Game Changer Award, and The Bachelorette’s Sophie Monk, who was awarded TV and Radio Personality of the Year.

“Today we recognise the achievements of women across Australia, who have dedicated themselves to inspiring and empowering all women to break down barriers and follow their passion,” said Keshnee Kemp, editor of Cosmopolitan.

“We are privileged to have the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of all of our winners and finalists in doing what they love with the utmost integrity and success.

Cosmopolitan sends a big thank you to Avon, our principal sponsor, as well as Rip Curl, Pantene and Rest Industry Super, who were the supporting hands behind the event.”

Aussie TV icon Kerri-Anne Kennerley was honoured with a Hall of Fame Award for her longevity and leadership in the entertainment industry. A consummate performer and presenter, Kennerley also works hard behind the scenes to empower and encourage women to pursue careers in the television industry, both in front of the camera and at an executive level.

On the awards, Fiorella Di Santo, General Manager – Fashion, Luxury, Food and Home said, “Cosmo has long been a passionate advocate of the Australian woman. As a publisher, we’re proud to provide a platform to celebrate the brave and the bold and demonstrate women supporting women. It’s obvious our readers are too, evidenced by the record-breaking number of votes we received for this year’s nominees.”

Other winners this year included 13 Reasons Why star Katherine Langford (Performer), Bree Johnson and Jess Hatzis, founders of Frank Body (Entrepreneur), and social media influencers Lauren Curtis, Elle Ferguson and Tammy Hembrow, who were named Social Media Stars in their respective fields.

A star-studded guest list attended the luncheon award ceremony, including Samantha Harris, Nikki Phillips, Phoebe Burgess, Nat Conway, Georgia Love, Nicole da Silva, Amber Sherlock, Renae Ayris, Stacey June, Kristie Mercer, Olivia Rogers, Anna Heinrich, Jessica Vander Leahy, Ashy Bines, Nadia Fairfax, Jasmine Yarbrough and Tash Sefton.

The complete list of 2017 Cosmopolitan Women of the Year Award winners is:


Entrepreneur: Bree Johnson and Jess Hatzis, Frank Body

Fellow finalists: Kate Morris, Alanna Bastin-Byrne & Jade Collins, Matty Samaei, Sarah Schoeller & Marissa Bowden

Fashion Designer: Yiota & Thessy Kouzoukas, Sabo Skirt

Fellow finalists: Nyree Corby, Isabella Pennefather & Elizabeth Abegg, Tamara Ingham & Jasmine Yarbrough, Tash Oakley & Devin Brugman

Game Changer: Jessica Smith, Paralympian, Author & Motivational Speaker 

Fellow finalists: Gladys Berejiklian, Angela Jay, Khadija Gbla, Melissa Abu-Gazaleh

Performer: Katherine Langford, Actress, 13 Reasons Why

Fellow finalists: Nicole da Silva, Pia Miller, Samantha Jade, Tanya Hennessy

Social Media Star (Beauty): Lauren Curtis

Fellow finalists: Danielle Mansutti, Tina Yong, Jenny Do, Wendy Ayche

Social Media Star (Fashion): Elle Ferguson

Fellow finalists: Margaret Zhang, Nadia Fairfax, Nadia Bartel, Sarah Ellen

Social Media Star: Tammy Hembrow (Fitness & Travel):                           

Fellow finalists: Felicia Oreb & Diana Johnson, Pia Muehlenbeck, Ashy Bines, Lauren Bullen

TV & Radio Personality: Sophie Monk

Fellow finalists: Julie Snook, Jan Fran, Bella Frizza, Tara Rushton

Sportswoman:  Joany Badenhorst

Fellow finalists: Rhiannan Iffland, Charlotte Caslick, Tyler Wright, Emily Duggan

Cosmopolitan selected nominees for the Women of the Year Awards. The winners were decided by the Australian public via online voting.

Media Enquiries